top of page
  • shezelgibon

How I Styled My Bar Cart


Hello guys! How are you all doing? I am just so happy to be back on here doing this post after quite a long break! As some of you may know, my family and I have just recently moved out of the city and in to our dream country home. It is so amazing how easy it is to slow done here. There's no more busy city traffic or much noise. It now takes me under ten minutes to get to work, and with that I get to pass by the beautiful neighbouring farms as well as a variety of animals like horses, cows and sheep just to name a few. Many people have asked me what it's like making this transition from city to country, and honestly the one word that I have consistently used to describe it, is peaceful. I have always imagined living this life, with a few chickens, birds chirping all around us and with a lot more land and privacy, but I never imagined it would come so soon! Or maybe it just feels that way. Because in all honestly this was our five year plan, which my hubby reminded me of just the other day. It still does feel so surreal at times though!

So anyways, with all of that being said, we have and will be taking our time to furnish and make our home just the way we have envisioned it to be! I would say my style with this home is more modern. A lot of black, white and grey furniture and decor. It makes sense with the design of the home, which was only just built in 2019, so it is a newer home... and definitely much newer than what we thought we would get out in the country. It truly was meant to be! My advice to you guys who are on the search for your dream home, or at least as close as you can get to it, is that you have to be looking on every home real estate site that you can find on a consistent, daily basis. That is what we did - and the moment we found this home online we notified our agent and set up a viewing right away! So back to the decor, our style once again is definitely a minimalist modern one. Neither of us like or thrive in a house full of clutter. We prefer to have a few things we love that are functional, than to have things that are just here to take up space. I guess this is just what you get when you put a Taurus and an Aries together in a home lol.


We are both very practical and organized.

So I have always wanted a bar cart in my home! Not because we are big alcohol drinkers but more because I think this is a very practical and aesthetically pleasing thing to have, especially when you have company over for dinner and what not! I'm more of a help yourself host when it comes to our guests, we both are actually. I also feel like a bar cart as simple as this super affordable one that I am sharing with you guys just elevates the vibe of the dining space. It adds a grown and sexy feel to it, and it allows you to see what drinks you have on deck and maybe what you need to get for an upcoming get together. I think I also just like how organized it looks, as oppose to throwing all of these bottles, accessories and glasses in a cupboard or two and forgetting all about them. When we first moved in and didn't yet have this bar cart I thought that we didn't have a bottle opener and even went out to buy one, completely forgetting that we had two, unpacked and everything, but hiding away in a cupboard. It also just feels good to know that as a working woman I can afford to do absolutely anything I want to do within the walls of my own home. I have to say that is a huge accomplishment, and makes me feel so good each and every time I think about it!

Okay so the actual cart itself is from the one and only IKEA! It is called the NISSAFORS utility cart and is selling for only $29.99. It is literally a steal AND so so practical. Even if you are not super in to bar carts like I am, you can use this for absolutely anything! Whether you use it as a coffee cart/station, a makeup cart or even an arts and crafts one, it is a great deal and style. Bar carts any and every where else range from about $129 to like $400. I was so shocked and confused really lol when I was looking online for one. As much as I love a bar cart, I would never spend that much money on one. Plus I feel like if your decor style is more modern then the clean lines and look of this cart will make you very happy. It can also hold a lot more than some of the oval or more rounded ones that I came across.


So let's get in to the details! I think that every bar cart needs some greenery or floral accent added to it, and so that is why I added my faux plant (also from IKEA) on the top of mine. It came in a nice black pot, however I put mine in to my little ice bucket that says "Cheers" on the front which I found at Homesense a few years ago. The plant can simply be taken out of the ice bucket which can then be used for ice when ready. And since the plant is not real I don't have to worry about soil getting in to the bucket and ruining it. Then to add some height I stuck our bottle of Dom Perignon to the back of the top shelf. Oh and the black-tinted, stemless glasses are also of great value and from IKEA. They are more of a sophisticated glass that look and feel pretty! As you can see on the second shelf I put the liquor on display in a tray that matches the ice bucket and is also from Homesense. I think that the tray helps to keep things looking organized and contained. Then to the other side is a bar kit that I got as a gift from my hubby last Christmas, which can be found on Amazon. If you just search bar kit a whole bunch of them will pop up! I love it because it allows me to make fancy mixed and chilled drinks in the comfort of our own home, or even some nice virgin drinks for those who do not drink alcohol. And then for all of my wine lovers, I have dedicated the bottom shelf to just that! There's usually three to four different types of wine, wine glasses and then just a couple of bottles of perrier water which is what we use the most when it comes on to mixing drinks, as we generally like to take it easy on the sweet and sugary ones.



Well guys that is my bar cart in a nutshell! If you've been wondering if you should add one to your space then wonder no more. Let this be your inspiration to go ahead and just do it! Especially if you know it'll make you happy, because that is what it's all about! Even my hubby was shocked at how something so simple could really help to make a space look like more than! Plus it's really easy to keep clean, which is always a bonus.


Thank you guys so much for stopping by and reading along. I hope that you have an amazing day/night and that I can see you all on here soon!


S.S.



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page