top of page
  • shezelgibon

4 Reasons To Love Mondays

Monday is the MOST dreaded day of the week by far too many. I can understand why so many people have a strictly hate relationship with Monday, but I can't say that I relate. Monday is so much more than the end of a weekend for me. A lot of you are probably having a hard time reading that lol, but that's why I am writing this post! I would love to share some of my reasons why you too should start or at least entertain the idea of loving Monday, instead of despising it. It really does have so much goodness to offer us, as we do it! There's just something about a fresh start to a brand new week that makes me feel so excited and optimistic!



 

1. Mondays help encourage us to feel refuelled and ready to take on a new week.


This one is especially true for those of you who get weekends off of work all the time! After most weekends that consists of spending good quality time with our families, friends or ourselves, we should typically be feeling good about the time off that we got to enjoy! Now I am not saying that all weekends end up this way, because believe me I know that things can come up and go wrong on any day of the week. But for the most part, we get to enjoy and unwind on the weekends to then feel good about taking on the new week ahead of us. For others, like myself, who work the occasional weekend or on a scheduled basis, there are still ways to go in to Monday feeling rejuvenated. I would always ensure that even if I did work the weekend, that I got some stuff on my weekend to-do list done, even if it was some thing small. Also, working the weekend some times means you have Monday off, which is another added benefit and reason to love this day! I'd take an empty, quiet, Monday morning grocery store trip over a busy, hectic weekend one any day!



2. Monday is a great day to start a new weekly goal, or pick up one that you may have left hanging from the week before.


There's nothing like setting yourself up for weekly success on a beautiful Monday morning. Some prefer to do this on Sunday evening, but I think that saving the planning for Monday allows us to fully soak in our self-care Sundays. I would rather use my Sundays for all things restful, and leave the weekly planning to a bright Monday morning. This way, you are not trying to squeeze the time in to plan on the Sunday. Just a word of advice, but of course you should do what ever makes the most sense for you and your lifestyle. Monday planning just makes me feel good not only about the week but also about the day, because you know that even if that is the only orderly thing you've gotten done for the day at least it's something!



3. Mondays are a great day to dress up and show out.


Whether you are the type who loves to dress up and feel good about yourself every day, or the type who would rather choose only one or two days out of the week to do so; Mondays should always be a day for you to put your best dressed self forward! I am not saying this in a shallow way at all. As a nurse I know about the value of people taking care of themselves. One of the major signs that we look for in people at risk for depression is whether or not they feel like they are able to get up, shower, get dressed and really do these acts of daily living for themselves, or whether their feelings of hopelessness and sadness have interfered with their daily self care routine. Taking care of how you look and in return how you feel is an act of self love. It allows you to show up for yourself; and there's really nothing more beautiful than that!



4. It is one more day of life.


I know I say it often, that each new day is a gift and shouldn't be taken for granted. But in all fairness, it's true... and Mondays are no exception to this perception of gratitude! When we are grateful for simple things, like being able to wake up in good health, then we are full in every way. You can also start your Monday off by listing some things that you are grateful for, or even just one. This will help deter your mind from thinking negatively about the day and set you up for a good one instead.



I hope you all enjoy your Monday,


S.S.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page