top of page
  • Shezel Spencer

A Word Of Truth On This Thoughtful Tuesday


 

It's 11PM on this Monday night. I just put my phone down after scrolling through Instagram. And I cannot help but write about this moment in time. This year that feels like all we've received is bad news. Now it's Naya Rivera, a beautifully selfless mother right up until her last breath. It's been Breonna Taylor, an essential worker and loving daughter whose killers still need to be arrested. Also George Floyd, a sweet and caring father who's life was and continues to be loved by many. And of course all of the other countless Beautiful Black Lives who matter. Earlier this year it was Kobe, so young and dedicated to his family, with an excitement to retire and rest from one of his life long loves. And of course the major life changing times of COVID-19 and quarantining. I mean some days it can all feel like a terrible nightmare, or a movie that we've all been cast to play a role in. It is all so exhausting at times. Overwhelming even. Just downright sad. It has made many question their belief system. Their purpose. Their opportunities that were once at arms reach. The amount of things that have been cancelled, postponed and forgotten about is crazy.

And yet with all of that being said I feel like I am able to see God's bigger picture and plan for us all. I feel like I am able to take away the message that He is trying to deliver. The one that exclaims that life is precious. Every breath is precious. Every heart beat is precious. Every I love you. Every encounter. Every second. Every minute and every day is nothing short of precious.

I am not saying that we shouldn't feel sad at times. I am not even saying that we shouldn't feel upset or angry with what is going on in the world right now. Because we should feel all the feels right now. I know I have and still do. We are entitled to AT LEAST that! What I am saying though, is that life is such a beautiful, priceless gift. It is such a pleasure to be alive today. To be able to tell our loved ones how we feel. And to be able to recognize how we feel within ourselves is a gift. Every life that we hold near and dear to us is a gift as well. They too are precious. And so in the midst of it all, let us try and create the space to recognize this.

This is why I started this blog and creative outlet. This is why I started my family. This is why I started my career in nursing. Because I had an awakened experience that essentially taught me that life is meant to be lived thoroughly. That we are suppose to take risks and do what we want as we want. In the good and holy words of the great Maya Angelou, we are here to thrive not merely survive. We cannot wait for tomorrow or the next day or year. Now is what is promised to us. Right now. Whatever you feel to use your voice and say, or use your being to BE in this world is exactly what you should do. Fear is no longer an option. Validation from others is not either. We have this one life to live. This one chance and moment in time to truly be authentic with ourselves and others. Get rid of the expectations you have for yourself, or the idea that you are not ready. YOU WERE BORN READY. God made you knowing that you would be destined for greatness in this lifetime.

I know that this may sound preachy, and maybe even a bit cheesy to some. But I'm okay with that. Because at least I know that in this present moment in time I am doing exactly what I want and love to be doing. Which is sitting at my desk, in my home, writing this for all of you to read and hopefully feel inspired and ready to see your life for what it is. For the precious, beautiful gift that it is and has always been. Know that God, the Universe, or what ever it is you believe in, is right by your side throughout it all too. The good and the bad. Make yourself proud and live with good intention. Set yourself up for a true and peaceful life. And lastly, live each day like it is your last. Express yourself. Your emotions. And feel it all. While remembering blissfully that this life should never be taken for granted as it is the only one we have and will ever get.

With an abundance of love, light, some joyful laughter & of course a heart full of gratitude, I thank and appreciate you for stopping by!

S.S.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page