top of page
  • Shezel Gibon

Our Dream Destination Wedding!


I am sooooo excited about this blog post! I literally have been dying to share all of our destination wedding excitement with you guys. As a lot of you may already know, Ryeon and I will be getting married in front of our closest family and friends in just under three weeks. We have both always pictured and talked about having a destination wedding. Having an intimate beach wedding was definitely a MUST for us; and I am so glad that we have been able to fulfill this dream of ours!

Beautiful Robes

I was gifted these two beautiful robes; the top one came from my mother and the bottom one from my girl Chrissy! They are both so stunning and I already know exactly when and how I am going to wear them!

 

Background History

So I thought I would provide a little bit of background history about us as a couple for those of you who are not so familiar. I will start off with saying that Ryeon and I are eight years apart. I have to say that a lot of people were shocked about our age difference in the beginning, but for us it has never been of any concern. Simply put, I have been pretty mature from such a young age and we just meshed and found one another at the perfect time in our lives. Speaking of found each other. We first met and became acquainted while living on the same street; Willick Place in Brampton. Shout out to all my Willick Place peeps! I literally saw this guy who looked exactly like Usher, and immediately fell in love. So YES it was love at first sight lol. Ryeon approached me first while I was playing basket ball outside of his house with my brother and some other guys on the street. Might I add every one who lived on that street was super close. I was in Grade seven when we first moved to Willick, and all the houses were newly developed so a lot of us were there from the start. However Ryeon moved on to the street some years later. But long story short, Ryeon and I first developed a friendship. We both saw each other date other people before getting together ourselves. But through all of the years we managed to stay in contact. Even when we both moved off of Willick, our hearts found a way back to each other. I went through some personal things and Ryeon was there for me through it all. I went through a terrible relationship and Ryeon was there to show me my worth. I would always say that I cannot wait to tell our kids all about our love story. And now here we are, in 2018 getting married and able to tell our daughter Maya all about our journey as a couple.

My engagement ring

This is a picture of my engagement ring. Ryeon proposed to me at our baby shower while I was still pregnant with Maya in April 2016. I was so surprised, and so was every one else who was there on that beautiful afternoon. Another great memory of ours!

 

The Wedding

So now let us talk about the wedding of our dreams. We will be getting married at The Riu in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. This resort is very significant to us because it is the first place we went to on our first vacation as a couple. I still remember it like it was yesterday. It is literally one of the best memories of my life. We then went back again the following year, this time with Ryeons son Daeveon. Both times were just magical, and we fell in love with everything about the resort. We have been to other resorts and countries but nothing topped this one. Our wedding is going to be super simple and classy. We are not about putting ourselves in a bunch of debt for literally one day. Yes it will be beautiful, but nothing over the top. Some thing that my grandmother said to me and really stuck was that it is not about the wedding, but instead the marriage in of itself. Our guest list is currently sitting at about 70 people, which is quite large for a destination wedding but most of that is just family alone. We literally just cannot wait to be back in Jamaica, but this time with all of the people that we love and care about. I think it was so perfect to do a destination wedding because every one is so excited to get a vacation out of it as well. I will definitely be doing a blog post when we return with a bunch of pictures and what not, so I will spare you guys all of the little details until then!

MY WEDDING SHOES!

So I was going to keep these babies a surprise, but I could not resist. These are my stunningly gorgeous wedding shoes that are equally as comfortable! I fell in love with them instantly, they were exactly what I had in mind and they shimmer in the most perfect of ways. I was with my mom, aunt, stepmom and friend when we found them and I literally balled out - I AM SAYING YES TO THE SHOE! And then did a happy dance in them lol, they too were love at first sight!

 

All in all, I am so excited to marry my best friend and lifetime partner. We do not live a perfect life, but we are perfect for each other. Every day we grow stronger and it is the best thing in the world to know that some one has got you always, no matter what. What I have realized throughout our journey as a couple is that love is never meant to be easy, but that it is also the most powerful thing. Here is to forever with you Ryeon, I cannot wait to be your Bride!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page