top of page
  • Shezel Gibon

Written Poetry

Good afternoon beautiful people! How are you ?! Today I have decided to share a couple of poems that I wrote as of lately. The first one was written for my oh so intelligent, strong and beautifully black girl friends who have really been going through it lately. Life has gotten them down in more ways than one; and so I felt compelled to write up this poem for them to remind them of how resilient they truly are. I hope that it not only touches them, but also all of you who have taken the time to read it! I am sure it is safe to say that we all need a little uplifting every once in awhile. The second poem is just one that I wrote whilst in my thoughts. Happy reading y'all!

Dear Friend

Let me tell you a little something about life.

It is not meant to be lived for others.

The only way to be truly happy in life,

is to first be happy with yourself.

LOVE YOURSELF.

Look in the mirror and love yourself.

Look at how far you have come and rejoice.

Tell yourself it is okay to feel.

But then tell yourself it is time to heal.

BE STRONG.

Walk with your head held high.

Kiss your insecurities goodbye.

Talk to yourself and let you know

that no matter what - YOU GOT YOU.

STAY HOPEFUL.

Write it down and do not forget to pray.

Be mindful of your thoughts,

push the negative away.

Practice gratitude for every aspect of your life.

And remember to live thoroughly each day.

Trust me I know the path is not always smooth.

But when life knocks you down,

decide to get up and move.

YOU possess all that YOU need to succeed.

So grab hold of your life and take the lead.

The People I Like

I like people who don't just say things

out of not knowing what to say.

I like people who can express their feelings instead of running away.

I like people who are confident and self aware.

I like people who don't talk behind your back, but instead speak up for you when you are not there.

I like people who are not afraid to admit defeat.

I like people who stand up tall on their own two feet.

I like people who look in to your soul and smile.

I like people who don't follow trends yet still have style.

I like people who are not so loud.

I like people who don't follow the crowd.

I like people who possess intellectual wellness.

I like people who are quite selfless.

These are the types of people I like.

But most important of all,

I like people who merely love to live life!

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page