top of page
  • Shezel Spencer

Purple Protein Power Smoothie


Hey all! According to the last poll taken on my instagram, most of you are interested in healthy living tips and strategies. So I thought I would do a post on one of my favorite smoothies to make at home, or when I'm on the run! This smoothie is soooo delicious and packed with healthy goodness. And of course it can be altered to suit your taste buds!

 

Ingredients:

Full scoop of vanilla whey protein (I use pure vita lab)

Handful of Kale (I used President's Choice frozen Chopped Kale)

Handful of Berries (I used Compliments 'Purple Power' blend)

Silk original soy milk (as much/little as you want)

Teaspoon of flax seeds

Water and/or ice (up to you!)

So I know my ingredients are not too precise, and that's because I don't want to scare you guys in to thinking that it has to be! You can really use any brand of protein powder, and choose whether or not to use fresh or frozen kale and/or berries! I think that frozen is best just because you don't have to worry about them going bad any time soon and it adds to that cool, refreshing smoothie taste. The water and ice part really just depends on how thick you like your smoothie. I prefer to thin it out a bit, so I add both! And when it comes on to adding milk, use what ever you guys have in your fridge and prefer! But the soy milk is my fave because it provides a little added taste, and its not too thick or over powerful.

So of course as I mentioned above, this smoothie is so healthy for you. WHY? Well because first off you're getting a bunch of protein by adding the powdered supplement, and also from the flax seeds which are a great source of plant-based protein. Flax seeds are also a great source of dietary fiber and consists of a bunch of minerals and vitamins. They ALSO contain omega 3 fatty acids which are good for cardiac and brain health, and have been said to reduce the risk of prostate, breast and colon cancer! So as you can probably tell, flax seeds are veryyyyy beneficial to our health and are so easy to incorporate in to any and every type of smoothie.

Now on to kale and berries! Both are packed with very powerful antioxidants and vitamins.The antioxidants have powerful anti-inflammatory, anti-depressant, anti-viral and anti-cancer effects; as well as being able to counteract the damage done by free radicals. Kale is one of the most nutrient dense foods out there. It contains Vitamins A, K, C and B6 as well as Potassium, Calcium, Magnesium and more. Berries are also a great source of fiber and so they aid in digestion!

So there you guys have it! A great smoothie to get you going in the morning, or if you need a boost at any time of the day. I hope you guys try it out and let me know what you think!

Til Next Time,

Shezel

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page