top of page
  • Shezel Gibon

5 Things You Probably Didn't Know About Me!


Hey guys, I thought that this blog post would be a fun way to share a little bit more about myself. So below are 5 random facts you probably did not know about me!

1. I AM LEFT-HANDED AND LOVE IT!

Us left-handers make up about 10% of the population! That to me is so amazing. I have always loved being one of the few left-handed people in a room full of right-handed ones. Some of the most successful and inspirational people are left-handed as well. There's Barack, Oprah, Einstein and many, many more.  Also I have always felt like I had such an advantage when playing soccer, because I was usually the only left footer on the team or on the field even. If you're left handed let me know what you think. Do you love it as much as I do?

2. MY FAVORITE COLOR HAS CHANGED FROM PINK TO YELLOW!

This fact about myself is very random but also meaningful to me. Right after I had my daughter, Maya, I just started to develop a love for the color yellow. To me it just became so much more than a color. It's so bright, happy, and uplifting. I just developed such a deep, DEEP love for the color and how it made me feel when I surrounded myself with accents of it (in my home), or even when Maya and I wore it! Sounds weird I know, but trust me when you have kids you start to look at things so differently, in the best way. 

But don't you guys notice when you go in to a Zara or something, that the yellow clothing is always worth so much more, and is just so beautifully made!? Or is that just me...lol. 

I guess before colors were just colors to me, and since I was a little girl I just chose pink as my favorite without really putting much thought in to it. It was just like okay I'm a girl and I really like to wear pink clothes so I guess my favorite color is pink! Once again, weird I know but meaningful to me. What's your favorite color and why?

3. I DIDN'T GRADUATE FROM HIGH SCHOOL!

So not many people know this, except those who are family or really close to me. But yes it is true, I did not graduate from high school. I attended four different high schools. Started off in Brampton, moved to Georgetown, then to London (Ontario) and back to Georgetown. I basically had no interest in school, and really did not have that many friends during my senior years as I was just getting to know people all over again due to the constant moving. And being the introverted Taurus that I am I had little to no interest in making new friends. There were also complications with transferring my grades from different school boards and such.  

So in a nutshell, I was left with a shortage of credits and did not graduate; did not attend any prom or high school graduation ceremony. I honestly felt no way about this, because it wasn't that I wasn't smart enough, it was solely based on the circumstances and lack of interest on my part. After working for a couple of years and finally realizing what I was passionate about career wise, I decided that it was time I go back to school and pursue Nursing. And so here I am, a high school dropout turned college graduate and current University student. 

We all know of the saying, " It's not where you start, it's where you finish." I am a firm believer in this saying, and feel no shame about where I started! 

4. I LOVE POETRY, WRITING AND JUST WORDS ALL TOGETHER!

I got in to writing and poetry when I was younger, anddd then I became an adult... 

Honestly life just gets so busy and full of adulting tasks on a daily; especially now as a mother, soon to be wife and full time nursing student. I just stopped writing and essentially being inspired. Because really, that's what writing and reading great literature does for me, it inspires. I often think of writing as therapeutic and powerful in a sense, because it keeps our brains active and stimulated. Writing; poetry and just words in general feed and enrich our souls in the best way. I just love it, and I'm so glad that I made the choice to start up this blog!

P.S. I hope to start sharing some of my written poetry on the blog in the future if you guys are interested!

5. I WAS BORN, RAISED AND HAVE LIVED IN BRAMPTON FOR MOST OF MY LIFE!

This last fact is just sad! LMBO. I love Canada and all that it has to offer. But honestly I just know (from travelling) that there is so much more to this beautiful world of ours. I am so over these Winters and having absolutely nothing to do in Brampton; it's a pretty boring place in my opinion. I refuse to stay, and live in Brampton or Canada for that matter for my entire life, and this is a feeling that I share VERY passionately with my fiancee Ryeon. It's just, it is what it is...for now lol.

So with that being said, all I will say about this fact is that yes I live here, and have lived here for awhile but I do not plan to stay. I'm sure some of my fellow Bramptonians can relate! 😊

Thanks for taking the time to read this post. I now challenge all of you to share 5 random facts about yourselves!

'Til next time,

Shezel

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page